

C. B. JORDAN.

JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION

VOL. XIX

NOVEMBER, 1930

No. 11

THE CHAIRMAN OF THE HOUSE OF DELEGATES, A. PH. A.

The Chairman of the House of Delegates has for many years taken an active part in state and national pharmaceutical association meetings and is a strong advocate of higher pharmaceutical education, with the aim in all of his work—to raise pharmacy to a plane of high professional standing. In 1912 he introduced the subject of prerequisite legislation to Indiana Pharmaceutical Association; at which time the proposition received little support, but he is persistent when convinced that his cause is worth while; as a result, in 1918, the plan was adopted by the Association.

Charles Bernard Jordan is a native of the "Lake State;" he was born on a farm near Morrice on November 7, 1878, where he received his early education, and graduated from high school in 1897. Thereafter, he taught in the country schools and grades at Morrice until 1900, when he entered the State Normal College at Ypsilanti, from which institution he was graduated in 1904 and, in the same year, was made Superintendent of Schools at Ypsilanti.

As a young man, while attending Morrice High School, and as teacher, he gained practical experience in the drug store of W. A. Conley. He entered the School of Pharmacy, University of Michigan, in 1908 and, in 1910, received the degree of Pharmaceutical Chemist and Bachelor of Science and, two years later, that of Master of Science from the same institution.

He was made director of Purdue University School of Pharmacy, September 1910, and, later, advanced to Dean, an office he still holds. In 1930 his efforts of past years were crowned with success by the completion and dedication of the Pharmacy Building of Purdue University.

Dean Jordan was secretary of the Section on Education and Legislation, A. Ph. A., 1916–1917, and its chairman during the following year. Last year he was vice-chairman of the House of Delegates and this year he was elected to the chairmanship. He was president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy in 1918–1919 and has been chairman of its Executive Committee since 1923.

1163